top of page

3 tips every bartender should know

Although I am a student, like many others I also need a part time job to keep me going through university. As I had bar experience previously, I thought why not get a job as a barmaid whilst I am at university. Although I love being a barmaid because I get to meet so many interesting people, you always have to expect the unexpected when working behind a bar.

These are my top tips for being a barmaid!

1. Keep busy. Being a good bartender isn’t just about knowing how to pour a good pint, it's also about keeping your work area clean and tidy. If you feel yourself ending up sitting down or on your phone, you know there is something that needs to be done. Cleaning is always a good way to spend some time on those shifts that seem to be never ending.

You always need to make sure all the glasses have been put through the dishwasher and are ready to be used for serving, because no-one likes a warm pint!

2. Making small talk. You need to be able to talk about anything and everything when serving customers (and trust me I mean everything). Even if it's about something you have no interest in, or you have no idea what the person is talking about, it's always good to keep the conversation going and the beers flowing. But you can also hear the most interesting stories when you work behind a bar, and meet the most interesting people that you never thought you would meet.

3. Safety. As a bartender, you always need to make sure you are in a safe position when it comes to your work. As you are working with people that are drinking alcohol, you must always remember to be diplomatic when possible and be able to retreat if you feel you need to. You must always be vigilant about what is going on around you and keep an eye out for underage drinkers, as you will be the one in trouble if they get caught with alcohol.

These were some of the top tips I believe are key to being a good bartender. Obviously there are many others but I think keeping busy, being a good conversationalist and making sure you are always in a safe work environment are key to being a good barmaid.

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page